Editorial design inspiration and influences

Country Walking Magazine.

https://i0.wp.com/www.stewartsmithphotography.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/DSC_9702.jpg

http://www.bauermediapacks.com/scripts/timthumb.php?src=/images/dyn/Leisure-and-Technology/CW%20The%20View%20spread.jpg&w=300&h=190&zc=0

http://www.bauermediapacks.com/scripts/timthumb.php?src=/images/dyn/Leisure-and-Technology/CW%20Hay%20Bluff%20spread.jpg&w=320&h=220&zc=0

I thought Country Walking magazine would be a good influence for my editorial project as it is not only relevant towards my theme of rural environments, it also uses visually appealing page designs and layouts that would suit my editorial idea. Most their pages depict a large photo filling the whole double page spread, something that I always wanted to use for my magazine pages. Also since I am still new to creating grids I didn’t want my grid layout to be overly complex, so took further influences from the grid layouts of Country Walking which usually uses simple grid layouts for their pages. As for the text layout, I considered positioning them in front of the large photos as shown in Country Walking but to stop the text from blending into the background too much I thought about adding tinted backgrounds to make the text stand out better.

Leave a Reply

