FMP Research: Graphic novel design examples

With the help of the art book White Cloud Worlds, I have been observing examples of design layouts and processes of existing graphic novels.

I have learnt that the design process of a graphic novel page is similar to how I first attempted to draft a few page layouts- Sketch out your idea and use digital techniques to create the final design.

As for the layout and panel designs, there’s a variety of ways to design them and there isn’t a fixed way to how panels should be designed. For example one panel will take up an entire page to depict a major event, some are structured with grids and some are loosely laid out. This is relevant to how I intend to create the panels for my one graphic novel- With the use of divergent thinking I’m trying not to design them too traditionally unless necessary. For example, I might create panels in unusual ways if I’m depicting an action scene or I could switch to traditional layouts to change the pace. Since I intend for my graphic novel Obliteration to depict scenes of action as well as character development, I will most likely be using structured layouts for scenes of character development and less restricted layouts for the action scenes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

